Munch on this Monday — Eggplant and Mushroom Tower

D-E-L-I-C-I-O-U-S     V-E-G-G-I-E    T-O-W-E-R

I load my shopping cart with some healthy vegetables and fruits every week, yet when I open my refrigerator door and look at all the various varieties of food I’ve loaded my refrigerator with I stop and stare as I stress about what to cook tonight.  Have you been there?  On this particular Munch on this Monday the eggplant and mushrooms made it to the cutting board.  I didn’t have a clue what I was going to do with them, so I googled away….eggplant and mushroom recipes….and there it was, a “vegetarian crispy baked vegetable sandwich” made by Rachel Castellino.  Rachel is an adorable thirteen year old with a yummy creation. So here’s my version of my tower of power of Eggplant and Mushrooms.

Munch on this Monday Eggplant and Mushroom Veggie Sandwich

Munch on this Monday Eggplant and Mushroom Veggie Sandwich

Add breadcrumbs, eggs, and flour to separate bowls.

Munch on this Monday Eggplant and Mushroom Veggie Sandwich

Coat your eggplant and mushroom caps in flour, egg, and follow with breadcrumb mixture.

Munch on this Monday Eggplant and Mushroom Veggie Sandwich

Place on greased baking sheet, top with your favorite cheese. Drizzle with olive oil & bake at 350° for 20 minutes.

Munch on this Monday Eggplant and Mushroom Veggie Sandwich

Stack it! Mushroom, Basil pesto, eggplant, marinara sauce, avocado, eggplant and some more marinara sauce. Add more cheese if desired!

Munch on this Monday Eggplant and Mushroom Tower

Munch on this Monday Eggplant and Mushroom Tower

Please share your thoughts

